Writing

No NaNoWriMo For Me This Year

Random thought to start: All shoes should have memory foam. It’s just the best foot related thing.

With NaNoWriMo less than two months away, I’ve decided to break my three year winning streak. In 2017, I won’t be participating. That’s because this year, I’ll be playing a longer game. I’m in the midst of planning a complete overhaul of my 2016 winning NaNo project. Hopefully, I’ll be ready to start rewriting on the first of November.

However, I won’t be aiming for 50,000 words in that month, this time around.burnout-2158500__340.jpg

If I’m honest, November’s a pretty terrible month for me, when it comes to doing NaNoWriMo. It’s one of my busiest months, work wise. I’m the accompanist for three choirs, and concert season really comes into force in November and December. It’s also music exam season. That means I’m stressing about those of my piano students taking exams (probably more than they are!). Also, I’m often accompanying instrumental students, which means learning additional repertoire.

Last year, I smashed 50,000 words, but it was definitely not good for me. I pushed myself hard in the first part of the month, and had around 42k words by the 10th of the month. But I was exhausted. So this time, I’ll be pacing myself. I want to have a complete third draft done of my WIP, currently named Generic Fantasy (The main characters are Jen and Eric), as soon as possible. But to have it done well, I think ‘as soon as possible’ translates to ‘by the end of February 2018.’

I’m currently super excited about where I am with this draft. In my last post, I explained how I’ve been reading a lot on how to construct a novel. I’m now taking what I’ve learned, and am making huge amounts of notes, scene plans, characters outlines and more. When November arrives I’ll know everything about the rewrite. Then, it’s time to patiently get the words on the page, in as stylish a way as I can manage. Draft three won’t be the final one. But this time, I hope my editing of that draft will be about tightening grammar and neatening clunky sentences. Hopefully, the actual story will be told in the way I want it to be.

Fingers crossed it turns out how I’m anticipating, and I hope everyone else’s writing’s going well!

Featured image used courtesy of National Novel Writing Month. Image within post used courtesy of pixabay.

4 thoughts on “No NaNoWriMo For Me This Year

  1. Hey, even if you aren’t officially participating in NaNoWriMo, you’re definitely working towards making your story amazing and putting in the world and dedication every wonderful story deserves.

    That counts as winning, in my book.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

