Writing

You won’t win Camp NaNoWriMo.

My blog posts start with something random and unconnected with the rest of the post. Today’s randomness: The letter Q. Why not have one 26th of our alphabet that almost always relies on another letter? Except when it doesn’t, because the English language thrives on irregularity. Such as Qi, which apparently, is ‘the vital life force that flows through the body and is supposedly regulated by acupuncture.’ Do you think that Q should be freed from U? That it should stand on its own more often, the epitome of an underdog that triumphed in the end? If so, that’s your cue to join the queue of people in favour of Q, lining up to be counted. If such a thing exists.

So, now that I’m no longer hideously distracted by a letter, on with the blog post.

This post has a pretty bold title. You won’t win Camp NaNoWriMo. I’ll be honest, I don’t actually believe this. I put that to reel you into a little experiment. I recently saw a claim that a confrontational title will draw more readers than a neutral one. I’m hoping that if the title made you read this, you’re hoping to prove it wrong.

download-1002802__340.jpgI like to think you’re this person with a tick, being all successful.

Like you, I want to have a positive writing time when July’s Camp NaNoWriMo begins. I’ve spent June planning a new project, and I’ll be aiming for a complete first draft before August comes along. I’m going to treat July like a normal NaNoWriMo, with a word goal of 50,000 words. I know I won’t write every day, because work comes first, and there are days when i’m busy all day with teaching and/or playing the piano. However, I know this in advance, so I can work out how many words I need on the days I can write, to be done by the 31st.

I also want to get a headstart, and build up a word buffer in the first week or so. Getting ahead and then having an easier second half of the month can really help keep things manageable.

In short, I’m going to prove this post’s title wrong by setting a realistic word goal, writing on the days I can, and sticking to a plan I’ve already written. And I hope you do the same, and keep those words flowing out, one day at a time. Can’t do 50,000? No problem. Camp NaNoWriMo lets you set any word goal from 10,000 to a million. Put something achievable, and I have absolute faith you’ll manage it.

Best of luck, and thanks for reading :).

Featured Image courtesy of  National Novel Writing Month. Tick image used courtesy of Pixabay.

Leave a Reply

