Writing

Editing Process So Far

February marches on towards March, which will april on towards April. In a few thousand years, that will be the correct way to describe the passage of the months, so I’m getting ahead of the game. You have to prepare, right?

Speaking of preparation, I spent January planning edits and additions for Generic Fantasy, the novel I’m currently writing. As January februaried into February (Ok, I’ll stop), the time came to start doing said edits.peacock-188018_960_720.jpg

I typed ‘editing’ into Pixabay, and the first thing it gave me was this picture of a peacock. It’s not suitable or relevant to the point I’m making, but it’s still here, so please give it some self worth by enjoying it.

Anyhow, I launched into action on the first of February, and I have been working steadily ever since. My word output is a lot slower than it was during NaNoWriMo, but I’m putting more thought into things as well. I’m doing additional research, rather than just thinking I’ll fix that later. My first step is to get additional chapters written. I’m including this in editing rather than just writing, because these are going in to fix holes in the plot. I had three extra chapters to write, and one existing chapter to split in two, with new material in each.

I’ve now finished two of the new chapters. I hope to have the third done next week, and the existing chapter reworked by the end of February at the latest. In March, I’ll start editing my other existing chapters, with a firm eye on where things need to change to flow in and out of the new material properly.

Honestly, I have no idea how long this will take. However, I’m not too worried about setting myself a super firm deadline. I’m pleased with the amount of work I’m putting in. I’m not slacking, so I’ll spend as long as it takes. I’m hoping I can have the 2nd draft finished by the end of May.

If that happens, I’ll have a break from Generic Fantasy, and start a new project. I’ve got the bare ideas of what this will be, but it’s too vague to mention properly. If things go as I hope, I’ll spend June planning it properly. I’ll use July’s CampNaNoWriMo as a more traditional 50,000 word goal month, and write the first draft of this project. Then I’ll put it on the back burner, and use August and September to come back to Generic Fantasy.

When October arrives, I want to plan a third novel, using NaNoWriMo 2017 to write it. Generic Fantasy is my main project, but I want to work on these other two to hone my writing craft further. I still have a lot to learn, and the more I write, the better I hope to become (providing I learn from my mistakes and research writing craft as well).

So I guess I have my 2017 writing goals mapped out. Generic Fantasy as the main focus, with two other novels to work on as well. I’ll let you know how things have gone when December arrives :). It’s a fair challenge, but I’m excited to try and meet it.

Featured image provided courtesy of Pixabay

 

4 thoughts on “Editing Process So Far

  1. Good luck with your editing!

    I’m not sure at what point one graduates from “aspiring writer” to actual writer. I’m slowly inching forward with my third book, which will be simultaneously self-published along with its sequel (my fourth book) sometime in 2018. How many books does it take to be deemed a writer? Do self-published writers qualify for this distinction? I can’t say. As for editing, I just edit as I write. Consider, though, that I typically spend three hours per MS-Word page, and sometimes a lot more. Based on what I’ve read on blogs and elsewhere, it seems that my approach is not only rarely used but also generally ill-advised. Since I self-publish, I don’t care. I “march” to the beat of a different drummer, even in the other eleven months of the year.

    And speaking of music, I continue to work with Chris Almoada on a Facebook page that will market our collaboration. He creates the melodies, and, in some instances, arranges the songs. I write the lyrics, along with their accompanying text (liner notes; background notes, etc.). I’m also in charge of marketing language. You might be interested to know that Chris has used piano music in some of his song arrangements.

    Like you, Phil, I have goals—but with no specific deadline. I think it’s insanely stressful to establish a deadline in stone, although I do think a fluid one is okay. In any event, unless one is under contract, I think deadlines have to be taken with a grain of salt. As an example, Chris and I originally thought our Facebook page would be up and running September 2016. Now it looks like we may possibly get there by March 2017. That’s a six-month difference! Originally, I thought I’d publish my two detective novels by the beginning of 2017. Now my eyes are looking at mid-2018. Unless one is solely devoted to one’s creative efforts (i.e., one doesn’t have a job or a busy marriage or social life), it’s hard to meet a specific deadline. It’s best to just keep on truckin’ towards one’s ultimate goal. Sooner or later, one arrives at one’s destination.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I think if you write, seriously and regularly, you are a writer. I don’t like people saying they are an ‘aspiring writer’. Just write, and then you are a writer. I understand the sentiment, because you feel you need to be paid to justify the title, but it can be used as a crutch. I think you have to think of yourself as a writer, and act as one, before you can expect anyone else to.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

