Writing

NaNoWriMo 2016 Progress

First off, I looked for a picture related to planning when I started this post. I found the following on pixabay, which doesn’t suit my purposes. But it amused me, so it’s going in. You’re welcome.coins-1015125_960_720.jpg

Potato money spoon calculators aside, we’re just over halfway through NaNoWriMo. I knew this year was gonna be tough. I planned more than I ever have before, and I realised I needed to get ahead early on. I was away for work for four days, I’ve got another day coming up where I won’t get any writing done. I have a lot of music to practice, and now I also need to learn to play the organ by the end of next month. My plan was to get a word buffer before last weekend, so I could focus on my music and still hit the 50,000 mark.

That was the plan. How do you reckon it went?

Actually, it’s gone better than I hoped. I got a bit obsessed with building that word buffer. To begin with, I wanted 25,000 words come the 10th of November. I’d be halfway, I could come back to my manuscript on the 15th of November and still be on target. Then, I upgraded the goal. I wanted 30k. So when the 10th of November rolled around, I was pretty pleased to clear the 40k mark.

Currently, my word count is 46,056 words. I have less than 4,000 words to go. I’m actually going to end up going a bit further than 50k, as I have three chapters left to write. I’m hoping that I can get one done tomorrow, one on Saturday, and one on Sunday. Potentially, that means I could be done by the 20th of November.

Why am I mentioning this?

First off, I won’t deny it, I’m pleased with my output. But secondly, this is a message for anyone who is starting to flag. There’s still time to hit that 50,000 target. Before last weekend, I was averaging just over 4,000 words a day. It was tough, and I was tired afterwards. However, I’m glad I did it in hindsight. I still managed to get my work commitments fully done. The best thing to do in these situations is to think what the person you are 12 hours from now wants to look back on.

The 30th of November is a couple of weeks away. Two weeks is actually a lot of time if used wisely. Think about who you want to be on that day. Sit at your computer for an extra hour (provided you’re not sacrificing your job as a heart surgeon firefighter rock guitarist to find that hour). Type an extra 500 words past what you planned to. In a couple of weeks, you’ll forget that you really wanted to watch that extra episode of <Insert TV show of choice>. You’ll just see 50k worth of effort, and know it was worth it.

Featured image used courtesy of National Novel Writing Month. Find out more about NaNoWriMo here.

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2016 Progress

Leave a Reply

